ALABAMA DORMANCY PERIODS FOR CLASSIFYING AND REMITTING
UNCLAIMED/ABANDONED PROPERTY

Reporting Periods: July 1%t = June 30%
Date Property Due: November 1% (report & remit) for period ending June 30
Aggregate Amount: Value less than $50
Negative Reporting: Zero/negative reports (filing of no property) are NO longer required
DORMANCY
PROPERTY TYPE PERIOD (in years)

Certificates of Deposit
Checking Accounts
Credit Memos

Debt (government bonds)
Debt (private bonds)
Demutualization (funds/securities)
Dissolution/Liquidation
Dividends

Federal Courts/Agencies
Fiduciaries

Gift Certificates*
Insurance Proceeds

IRA Keogh

Life Insurance Matured
Mineral Proceeds
Money Orders

Official Bank Checks
Safe Deposit Boxes
Savings Accounts
Securities

State Courts/Agencies
Travelers Checks

Utility Deposits/Refunds
Vendor Payments
Wages

All other Property
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*Gift Certificates would comprise property other than those exempt under § 35-12-73 of the Alabama Disposition of
Unclaimed Property Act of 2004.

The Alabama Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act of 2004 as mandated under Article 2A, Title 35, Chapter 12, §
70— 96, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, sets out the time periods in designating when personal property is
considered unclaimed/abandoned and reportable to the State of Alabama, Office of State Treasurer.



