PASSAGE OF FEDERAL ABLE ACT

» House of Representatives
v" Passed December 3, 2014
v’ Vote: 404-17

» Senate — Added to Tax Extenders Bill
v" Passed December 16, 2014
v’ Vote: 76-16

> Signed into law by President Obama — December 19, 2014

» Renamed Stephen Beck, Jr., Achieving a Better Life Expectancy Act — honoring Virginia Father
and early advocate — passed away in December 2014

PASSAGE OF ALABAMA ABLE ACT

» Senate passed on April 21, 2015
v’ Vote: 27 -1
» House of Representatives Passed on June 03, 2015
v" Vote 103-0
» Signed into law by Governor Robert Bentley on June 09, 2015



WHAT IS THE ABLE ACT?

> Creates new IRC 529 A

v’ Authorizes a new type of tax- advantage savings programs: Qualified ABLE Programs

v’ To encourage and assist individuals and families saving to support individuals with
disabilities

v’ To provide secure funding for disability-related expenses to supplement private
insurance, Medicaid, SSI and other benefits

» Modeled in many respects after 529 college savings accounts

> First major federal legislation for the disabled since the 1990 Americans with
Disabilities Act



WHAT ARE THE STATES DOING?

> States with an ABLE Bill in 2015: 41

» Where is the responsibility placed?
v' Department of Treasury: 15
v’ College Savings Plan: 7
v' Health/ Human Services Agency: 8
v’ Other: 11



STATUTORY AND OPERATIONAL
CONSIDERATIONS

ABLE ACT

529 STATUTE

Account Owner must be beneficiary

Account Owner may be beneficiary

Beneficiary must be an “Eligible
Individual”

No comparable restrictions.

In-State/ Contracting State residency
required

Plans may be offered to instate
residents and nationwide

1 ABLE account per beneficiary
requirement

No account owner/beneficiary limit

Annual account contribution limit
requirement currently $14,000.00

No annual account contribution limit
for Qualified Tuition Programs

SSI eligibility limit - $100,000.00

No Comparable Qualified Tuition
Program provisions

Definition of Qualified Disability
Expenses

Definition of Qualified Tuition
Expenses

Withdrawals

Withdrawals

Rollovers: Narrow “Member of the
Family” definition for rollovers and
beneficiary changes

Rollover: Broader definition of
“Members of the Family” for Qualified
Tuition Programs

Medicaid recapture requirement
(Transfer to State)

No comparable Qualified Tuition
Program Provision

Contributions not allowed for state
tax deduction

Contributions allowed for state tax
deductions
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ABLE FACTS

Beneficiary must be declared disabled by the age of 26.

Beneficiary must be declared disabled by Social Security or submit a
disability certification that would include a physician’s diagnosis.

Account must be established in the designated beneficiary’s state of
residence or in a contracting state.

The total annual contribution limit is $14,000.00 or the current gift tax
inclusion.

The first $100,000.00 is exempt from the SSI $2,000.00 individual limit. If
the account exceeds $100,000.00, the benefits are suspended; however the
eligibility will not be terminated. The account will remain suspended until
the balance falls below $100,000.00.

Aggregate Contributions may not exceed the state limit for 529 savings
accounts. The State of Alabama’s limit is $350,000.00

Medicaid is not suspended due to account balances; however there is a
Medicaid payback. Anything remaining in the account when the beneficiary
dies may be claimed by the state for Medicaid payments that were made
after the account was established. The Medicaid payback is not required
until after the payment of all outstanding payments due for the qualified
disability expenses have been made.

Qualified disability expenses include: education, housing, employment
training and support, assistive technology and personal support services,
health, prevention and wellness, financial management and administrative
services, legal fees, expenses for oversight and monitoring, funeral and
burial expenses.

Qualified distributions are tax exempt.



Summary of Proposed IRS Regulations of
Concerns

The full proposed regulations were 76 pages in length; however, those of concern to
CSPN and State Treasury are as follows:

» Eligible Individual Determination — Two Statutory methods for an
individual to qualify:

e Filing of a disability certification with the Secretary of the Treasury that certifies
that the individual ha a qualifying disability or is blind and that such disability or
blindness occurred before the individual’s 26" birthday and containing a
physician-signed disability diagnosis. The proposed regulations shift to the state
programs the Treasury Department’s statutory responsibility to receive, and
perhaps assess the facial adequacy of a disability certificate by stating that a
“disability certification will be deemed to be filed with the Secretary once the
qualified ABLE program has received the disability certification.”

e Eligibility for Social Security Act benefits based on blindness or disability that
occurred before the individual’s 26™ birthday.

Concerns: the portion of the proposed regulations “deeming” disability certifications filed
with Treasury when filed with the State. If the State must be involved in this process, ABLE
must be allowed to rely on a self-certification by the account owner that the certification
and physician’s diagnosis has been filed with Treasury.



» Qualified Disability Expenses:

The proposed regulations provide a definition of “qualified disability expenses: which
states that such term “includes basic living expenses and is not limited to items for
which there is a medical necessity or which solely benefit a disabled individual.”

e Distinguishing Among Types of Distributions
The proposed regulations state that “a qualified ABLE Program must establish
safeguards to distinguish between distributions used for the payment of
qualified disability expenses and other distributions and to permit the
identification of the amounts distributed for housing expenses....”, and to report
this information to the Commissioner of Social Security.

Concerns: This language should be deleted as the statute allows an ABLE account owner
to request account distributions in advance of paying expenses, and the State will not be
able to constitute a qualified disability expense. CSPN suggests striking this regulation as
the statute simply requires aggregate distribution reporting, not transaction-by-
transaction reporting.

Alternatively, if this regulation requirement is not eliminated, CSPN recommends that the
account owner be allowed to self-certify, under penalty of perjury, that the withdrawal
will be applied for (i) housing expense; (ii) other qualified disability expense; and (iii) non-

qualified expenses.

» Requirement to obtain TINS for all contributors

e Proposed regulations require the State to request the TIN for each contributor to
an ABLE account at the time the contribution is made. It appears this obligation
is being imposed for the purpose of reporting to the IRS the return of any monies
considered excess contributions.

Concerns: Require the TIN to be required only when an excess contribution is returned

to the contributor.

Note: The regulations are issued as proposed regulations, and therefore technically
are not in effect. Comments are due by 9/19/2015 in the Federal Register, and a
public hearing on the regulations will be held on 10/14/2015.



